not just darvocet…

So I’ve come across this information in two different places, although now I can only find the one link. 

They’re pulling darvocet off the market, and soon the generics, as well — we all know this by now. But what about the other drugs that are just as dangerous that are being ignored? It’s interesting what drug companies will do to keep their products on the market…

From the one article I was able to find again (I read this info the day the Darvon/darvocet announcement was made, so I had to search again), this is a quote::

At the 2009 Advisory Committee meeting, Dr. Sidney Wolfe presented a report titled “Drugs Identified in Deceased Persons by Florida Medical Examiners” produced by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE). He showed a graph of propoxyphenerelated deaths ranging from 328 to 368 for the period of 2003 to 2007. He pointed out that in 2007, 85 (25%) of the 341 propoxyphene-related deaths were caused by propoxyphene.

OK, we know that propoxyphene is the problem, but did you also know that two other drugs were included in this study — two drugs many, many people take, including myself.
*one of them being the medicine my rheumatologist wanted to increase and i had to remind him he had decreased my dose because of a possible interaction with another of my meds.

I’ll put the link at the bottom, but this is basically what the info boils down to, and it’s rather shocking … at least I think. As is the next bit of info I’ll give after (and YAY! I just did a search and found the second article to link to :))

From 2003 – 2007, there were approximately 11 million prescriptions for propoxyphene, 34 million for hydrocodone and 6.6 million for tramadol. The number of prescriptions dispensed serves as a proxy for the amount of drugs available (or exposure) in the community. Over the five-year period, the number of drug-related deaths adjusted for drug utilization was approximately 16 deaths per 100,000 prescriptions for propoxyphene, 10 deaths per 100,000 prescriptions for tramadol and 9 deaths per 100,000 prescriptions for hydrocodone, the positive control.

So yeah, that may not sound like a lot overall, but if they’re taking Darvocet off the market, why are tramadol and hydrocodone still on? Curious, no? Hrm…

But here’s the kicker!!!
When it comes to Darvon, according to an ABC news report,

Dr. Sidney Wolfe, director of Public Citizen’s Health Research Group, which petitioned the agency in 1978 and again in 2006, called the delay “a serious indictment of the FDA’s long-lasting unwillingness to protect people in this country from a deadly but barely effective painkiller.”

I’m sorry — what? 19freaking78?! I was born in 1979!!! They’ve known about these dangers for this long and have done nothing until now?

If you read the ABC article, and I *HIGHLY* recommend you do (it’s more interesting than the other — not just statistics), you’ll find even more info about a UK ban and deaths that have occurred in the US since because we didn’t ban the drug.

–Now, as a tramadol user, I really like the drug, as I also like hydrocodone. They take the edge off. Tramadol is my everyday medicine and hydrocodone is for breakthrough pain to give me a little more (on top of the other pain meds I take :P), and I wouldn’t be happy to see these drugs go off the market.
Heck, I’m not even remotely happy about darvocet being pulled because it’s one drug that actually works for me, but I can agree as to why it’s being done.

I could go on for quite a while about how I feel about this, but I’m just reporting what I’ve read, so I’ll leave you with the links::

FLORIDA STUDY LINK

ABC NEWS LINK

*sigh*

About Amy Cate

I have lupus. I'm doing my damndest to advocate and spread awareness. This is just one of the ways I'm involved =D
This entry was posted in abcnews.go.com, News / Info, www.drug-attorneys.com and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to not just darvocet…

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention not just darvocet… | WILD WITHIN: my personal canis lupus -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

